GBBO Bake Along (Week 1 & 2)

Ah, the Great British Bake Off.

I remember a time when I would’ve openly scoffed at the idea of being so enthralled by a show where people made cake. I mean, where’s the fun in that? It’s not like I could eat the cake. Of course, this was also during the years when I was utterly uninspired by cooking. Convenience was my friend and stir fry was as exciting as my repertoire got. 

Now, as an older but no more wiser woman, I am hooked by its twee British charm. I quickly adopt my favourite baker and Marvel at their creations.  So much so that this year, I decided to bake along with the show. 

It started so well. 

Week one: Jaffa Drizzle Cake. 

Armed with the required ingredients  (an orange, some flour, butter, sugar and cohoclate), I cleared a space and began to bake.

Incident 1: discovering you don’t own a large enough bowl to make cake mix in. 

Incident 2: realising that “zesting an orange” is incredibly time consuming and grating your fingers really hurts.

Incident 3: eating too much cake mix/drizzle mix/melted chocolate and feeling very sick.

The end result:

Gaze upon its drizzled awesomeness but remember how pride comes before a fall…

Week 2: Biscuits

Dear god. How wrong this went. There were several factors working against me and I ended up making 2  batches from 2 different recipes. 

Incident 1: In an attempt to cut corners, and running late from an exercise class, my first attempt used only 3 ingredients – peanut butter, sugar and an egg. It was terrible.

Incident 2: Seeing how badly the first batch turned out, I tried a different recipe. It was 10pm. I was tired. I was stressed. The second batch taste of nothing. Just.. nothing.

The end result: 

The left hand side is the 3 ingredient, sticky almost brittle mess. The right is the tasteless but texture-perfect failure. I was not built to make biscuits. 

Next week: Bread. 

All images used are taken by and the property of AStarFellOnHer, unless otherwise stated. The use of any image from this blog without express permission is strictly prohibited

One thought on “GBBO Bake Along (Week 1 & 2)

  1. lifeasunusuals says:

    Peanut butter, sugar and egg sound like a bad mix… I don’t just these three ingredient things, they are never as simple, quick or tasty as people make you believe!

    I feel you on the biscuit pain, mine turned out shit as well. You’ll see tomorrow when they grace the internet…

    You should definitely link up with Amanda (http://rhymeandribbons.com/) if you’re going to bake along 🙂

Leave a Reply

