Banana Pancakes – A Horror Story

You know those times when you see a recipe on the internet and think “Wow, that looks easy! I’m definitely going to try that”? Yeah, this is the result of one of those.

As you can guess from the title, the recipe in question was for 2-ingredient Banana Pancakes. I like Bananas, I like Pancakes. What could possibly go wrong?

Everything, dear reader. EVERYTHING.

First up though, should you feel like making this abomination for yourself, here’s what you’ll need.

1 Banana
2 Eggs

Banana

Now, the more astute of you may notice that the quantities specified do not match up with the photo above. That, my curious friends, is due to my own stubborn insistence that this could NOT go wrong so it was obviously safe to increase the recipe to fit my growling stomach.

WRONG.

Still, what’s the next step I hear you cry?

Banana3

Mmm, smushy goodness.

The next step, as clearly evidenced above, is to smush everything up..
but separately.
Let’s not get out of control.
In a shocking twist, once it’s all been separately smushed, you can now smush it all together. Joy.

Banana4

Let’s be honest, this is not looking good and a large portion of my brain was trying very hard not to think about what that mixture looks like. I added a blob of honey at this point in the smushing as well, as the recipe said this was an ok move. The only thing left to do was to cook these bad boys. Coincidentally, this is where everything went VERY wrong.

As a little bit of advice from one stubborn person to another, when a recipe says “Cook in small batches” it’s likely that there’s a very good reason for this. It is not the time to shout “Pah!” in the face of the instructions and throw it all in the pan in one go.

I feel comfortable in telling you this harsh truth as shouting “Pah!” and “Go Big or Go Home” was what I did, throwing all of the mix in to the pan and oh god.. I regret it so much.

There’s a very good chance that, had I followed the instructions correctly, this could’ve ended with some lovely Instagram worthy pictures of fluffy and delicious looking pancakes. Instead, I present you with this..

Banana5a

The theory was sound but the result was eggy scrambled egg.
It was disgusting and no amount of honey could save it.
I am shamed.

I have since learnt though that bananas give me mouth ulcers so at least it’s not like I’ll be tempted to do this again.

Laters xx

All images used are taken by and the property of AStarFellOnHer, unless otherwise stated. The use of any image from this blog without express permission is strictly prohibited

11 thoughts on “Banana Pancakes – A Horror Story

  1. helensnowdon says:

    Hahaha poor you. I must have been lucky as I haven’t messed up this recipe yet. This kind of reminds me of every single attempt I’ve made at omelette. It always turns to scramble. At least you tried. Every failure is a step to success 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    ‘Go big or go home?’ Dude, how could it have gone so south??? Bad times.
    I made these in small batches and ended up with several small puddles of that scrambled egg monstrosity. The husband didn’t speak to me for a few days after I made him eat it.
    Bananas pancakes = bad. Onwards and upwards.

  3. lifeasunusuals says:

    I don’t know what to say other than, that looks horrid and sounds terrible. To start with, bananas are a great egg replacement in recipes, so it make no sense to put bananas and eggs together… and eggs are eww haha.

    You should try, if you’re still into banana pancakes (though the mouth ulcers say other wise) – Batter: 1 cup of oats blended into a flour, 1 cup almond milk, 1-2 ripe bananas. Optional add ins: 1/4 tsp cinnamon + 1/2-1 tbsp coconut sugar.

    Or this is a particularly great (no bananas involved) pancake recipe – 1 cup plain flour
    2 tablespoons caster sugar
    3 teaspoons heaped baking powder
    Pinch of salt
    1 cup soy milk
    2 tablespoons vegetable oil

    1. Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl.
    2. Add the soy milk and oil slowly, stirring until it is all blended into a smooth batter.
    3. Lightly oil a pan and heat on medium. Drop spoonfuls of the batter into the pan and cook until bubbles begin to form on top. Flip, and cook on the other side until brown.
    4. Keep the cooked pancakes warm on a foil-lined plate, and return briefly to the pan to warm through properly before serving

    the second pancake recipe is better than the first!

Leave a Reply

