Head Purge

Being positive is a ballache.

There. I said it. Don’t pretend like you don’t agree.

(FYI: this post doesn’t really have a point. It’s mostly just bunkum that’s been filling my head lately that’s coincided with a bad case of verbal diarrhoea. Delightful)

Every day we’re bombarded with quotes about  bettering ourselves, living the life that you want, reminding us that tomorrow isn’t guaranteed and yeah, I’ve posted my fair share on instagram. So what?

At work, my “buzzword” is OPTIMISM. Yeah, I’m that person. There’s even talk of getting me a tshirt with it printed on. The thing is though, it’s not about me being positive it’s about getting on with it. I’m incredibly cynical for the most part so that my office see me as a morale booster does make me lol. I work to make money to do other fun things. It’s not the centre of my world nor will it ever be. I do my job, apparently I’m quite good at it but, and this is especially true on bad days, I don’t let it stress me out too much. What’s the point?!

If we did have to choose a mantra or positive statement for life, mine would definitely be:

image

No haikus, no cryptic subtext, no fancy words. Just simple, direct, to the point fact.

Everyone has bad days and good days. Shit Happens. Move on. It might take days, weeks or months but you can’t let a bad thing drag you down. This is something that I’ve really struggled with in the past but it really is true what they say, the older you get the less you care what other people think.

Not everyone will agree with me on this and that’s cool. We all have our opinions, we’re all different and that’s the whole point. What’s good for them might not be good for you – Great.

Shit Happens, move on.

3 thoughts on “Head Purge

  1. Kerri says:

    Preach it lady!! The only reason I’ve stuck at my job so long is the money, it’s good and we get to do lots of fun things – but damn does it kick my mental-arse a lot more than it ever did lately. Still, shit happens. Moving on with my pay-cheque. Or is it pay-check?

  2. Natasha says:

    This is brilliant! I’m an optimist at heart so when I have my down days I always use this attitude – have to move past it and continue on. Sometimes a cry and a bit of a down, quiet day is good to balance it out but I have to get back up and move forward to make a difference and start feeling better again. I hope you’re doing OK now too! – Tasha

Leave a Reply

