Belated updates

I’m 97% sure that I’m going through some sort of quarter-life crisis. (Yes, in this scenario I do plan to live until the ripe old age of 124. What’s your beef?)

Oh, hello by the way. How have you been?

Anyway, yes. Crisis. Focus back to me, please!

This year has been a bit of an odd one. I started the year cutting my hair short, quit drinking, got back on medication, joined a gym and have spent the last 4-5 months questioning every single aspect of my life. It’s super tiring, yo.

On Saturday, I finally snapped. I’d booked a haircut anyway as I needed a trim but somewhere between Wednesday and Saturday things got a little.. weird.

I’ve always toyed with having short hair. A lot of it is due to having a predilection for girls of the elfin variety (90s Winona Ryder for life!) and also because I’m SUPER LAZY. Teamed with the current bet I have with mum to grow my hair back to brown and well, the best laid plans and all that.
 
Still, Saturday came and I headed to the salon (Rerooted on Angus Street, for anyone interested).

They made me a coffee.

I chatted with the staff, who were all in Fancy dress by the way. Excellent.

I was still in two minds about what to do with my hair when Lee, my stylist, came and sat next to me.

“What are we doing today then?” he asked

I looked at him, blinking rapidly, my pulse racing.

“Screw it. Cut it off. Cut out as much red as you can. I don’t care. Just get rid of it.”

Yeah…

2hrs later and it was done. Although my hair wasn’t exactly long to begin with, I was still surprised by the amount of hair on the floor.

This is before:

image

This is after:

image

You want to know the weirdest part? After spending my whole life literally hiding behind my hair, I’ve never felt more confident than I do with this cut. It’s made the red bits seem even more red and I’m super excited to see how the brown grows out. I’ve not seen my natural hair colour since I was 18!

For everything else, I’ve got a great doctor and my medication is making day-to-day life much easier. I’m still questioning everything but it doesn’t keep me up at night so much. Bad days happen and that’s ok. Hopefully this’ll see the start of me blogging more often again. Fingers crossed!

Laters xx

2 thoughts on “Belated updates

  1. Kerri says:

    I LOVE it!! It really suits you and you look beautiful! I hope this is the start of a new refreshed blogging career for you 🙂 I’ve missed you pretty lady.

Leave a Reply

