The Furry Friend Tag

Yeah, Yeah, I’m not even ashamed of how much I blanked on a post and so have pinched this from Kerri instead. Still, you get to see a lot of cat pictures so.. winning?

I’ve written about my cats before, even mentioning the Lol-some “purrito” that FatCat likes to turn in to occasionally. This time though, you get to hear about all three of my fluffy buggers. – Caliban, Pepper and Scratch. Technically Caliban is PJ’s but for the purpose of this (and according to the vets) I’m claiming him as my own.

  1. What is your pet’s name?
    Oh, I already covered that.. Caliban is named after a character from Shakespeare’s The Tempest because PJ is that kind of nerd. My two were named by my ex and me. Pepper is Pepper Potts and Scratch is Scratch Fury (Destroyer of Worlds) or Scratch Pervert depending on what time of day it is.

    Caliban

    Caliban

  2. What kind of pet is it and what breed?
    All three of them are definitely cats, I’ve had that checked. Caliban is often mistaken for a small bear but that’ll be the Maine Coon in him. My two are just tuxedo moggies.
  3. How long have you had your pet?
    PJ got Cal when he was 6months old and I’ve had the pleasure of his acquaintance for 4yrs. I’ve had my two since they were 12 weeks old and got them way back when in 2008. Damn, that’s a long time.

    Pepper

    Pepper

  4. How did you get your pet?
    Back in 2008, my then boyfriend was in the process of joining the RAF. So that I wouldn’t be home alone, we decided that a pet was needed. For our 6-year anniversary, we took a walk to a local pet shop that hand reared kittens and came home with our 2 bundles of joy. 7yrs later, that boyfriend is long gone but my stupid cats are still here.
    PJ got Caliban in 2010 after a friend at work told him about some kittens that needed rehoming. Cal was tiny at the time so PJ happily took him in and they’ve never looked back (although Cal has tried to escape several times. Sneaky git!)
  5. How old is your pet?
    My girls are 7yrs old and Cal is 5yrs old. That’s all you get for this one.

    Scratch

    Scratch

  6. What are some quirky things about your pet’s personality?
    Oh sweet mercy, how long have you got? Let’s do them in order, shall we?
    Caliban, oh sweet stupid Caliban. Aside from being the size of a small bear, he has the most effeminate meow that has ever been heard. He also looks like he’s wearing fluffy pantaloons and very much minces as he shimmies out of a room. Bullied by my girls, he’s a massive wimp who has limited spatial awareness. The knob.

    Looking Majestic

    Looking Majestic

    Pepper. Sometimes I worry if Pepper is actually “globally challenged”. We’re 98% sure that she’s not aware of what a cat is or that she is one. She likes to be punched and is also the noisiest cat I’ve ever met. With her fat belly, she looks ridiculous when she runs and is skilled at falling off things. She also once got her tongue stuck to the flea collar she was wearing. She is, however, the most laidback of our cats.. even if she does have some serious abandonment issues.

    Me and My Fats.

    Me and My Fats.

    Scratch. My baby. My little  girl. The smartest of the 3, we’re 100% sure that she is both French and a scientist. A bout of cat flu as a kitten has left her tiny and with a penchant for getting conjunctivitis. The only downside of Scratch is that she is vomits a lot. She likes curling up on laps, isn’t too keen on stroking, can’t meow (because of the cat flu) and likes to lick the flavouring off of crisps.

    LittleBit

    LittleBit

  7. What does your relationship with your pet mean to you?
    Everything. My girls have got me through some of my darkest times. They give me a reason to get up every day and are always there to cuddle when I need them. We’ve had our difficulties but I couldn’t imagine living without them.
  8. What are some of your favourite pastimes with your pet?
    Lying on the sofa watching films, for realises. Pepper is fond of playing fetch, so that too – like I said, she doesn’t know that she’s a cat.
  9. What are the nicknames you call your pet?
    Caliban: Calibastard, Califur, Cal, Stink Butt, Fluffy Butt, Oh! Canada, Bud, Dude, Taliban (my dad), Calibuddy, Fluffy Bugger.
    Pepper: Fatcat, Fats, FattyBabes, Peps, Pespi, Pepperino, Pepsicle, Babes, Pepsicorn, Twat.
    Scratch: Littlecat, Littlebit, Scratchy, Scratchums, Scratch McPowell, Dr Scratchums, Babygirl, Littleone.
  10. Would you ever get more pets?
    I added this question in because there only being 9 questions made me uncomfortable. I would get more pets in a heartbeat. Top of the list is a pug but I’d take whatever I was given. I’ve owned snails and fish in the past and would happily own them again but maybe not at the same time as cats.

    A rare picture of all 3 hanging out together

    A rare picture of all 3 hanging out together

So there you have it. If you decide to do this tag as well, let me know and link me to your post!

Laters xx

All images used are taken by and the property of AStarFellOnHer, unless otherwise stated. The use of any image from this blog without express permission is strictly prohibited.

One thought on “The Furry Friend Tag

  1. Kerri says:

    they are the cutest!!
    I see Scratch is a fan of jigsaws! I found out last night (after buying Kris and I a jigsaw or two from two for a wild date night) Choppy is a fan too. He tried to run off with a few pieces the butthead.

Leave a Reply

