Making Deals with the Devil

Way to be dramatic, post header. Jeez!

Ok, no, I don’t mean the actual devil. That’s madness, yo. I’ve seen the films. Ain’t no-one getting their hands on my soul. What I actually mean is “Making Deals with my Mum” but that doesn’t sound quite so impressive now, does it?

Cast your mind back to Monday and this post about heading back to the homestead for a day with my folks and a beautiful pooch.

image

Aw, look at her. Gorgeous.

I digress.

While home, me and mum got chatting about growing up. We reminisced about when me and my siblings were little and all of the random stories that we share. At some point, my Dad wandered in and bemoaned the loss of my natural hair colour. This is a regular occurrence whenever I see my folks. My dad, while proud of the woman I’m becoming, really misses the little brown-haired girl that I was. The great big mushy bear.

After he’d disappeared back outside to do… something DIY-y… Mum turned to me.

“What are you going to do with your hair next then?” she asked.
“I want to grow it back long again” I replied.

She laughed and, having clearly misunderstood what I had meant, replied

“As if you’d ever let it grow it back to brown. I bet you anything you won’t do it”

What I’d meant was that I wanted to have long hair again, not grow it out back to my natural shade. Her comment was like a red rag to a bull though and I immediately took her up on it. Hands were shook, deals were made.

So now, here we are a week later. My bathroom cabinet has been stocked with Lee Stafford Hair Growth products, the remaining packs of bleach have been hidden right at the back by the spider webs and
I.
Am.
Committed.

During a call to her later in the week, we set down some ground rules:

1. No bleach or permanent dye. Nada. Zip. Zero.
2. Semi-permanent dye is allowed for the ends of my hair only (the parts already dyed)
3. Haircuts are permitted (and encouraged) Gotta keep those ends fresh!
4. Moaning about grey hairs is forbidden (I’ve already found some you guys – Argh!)

I’ll admit my main impulse for doing this was my mum’s bet but also.. I feel like it’s the right time for me. I’ve been dying my hair for almost 15yrs now and, while I love having brightly coloured hair, it just doesn’t feel “me” anymore. I’m not saying I’ll never dye it again because who knows? I might not even make it through this challenge! (I mean, this is my most viewed post) I just feel like I wanna give this a really good try.

This is where you guys come in – I need your support. For reals.

Whenever you see me moan about my roots, my greys, my brown hair – SHUT. IT. DOWN.

You guys are my allies in this. I need you.

For now, I shall leave you with the current state/mess of my hair. I did put some dye on the blonde bits last night but that’s allowed within my rules so *blows raspberry*

image

Oh man, this is gonna be a looooong journey.

Laters xx

All images used are taken by and the property of AStarFellOnHer, unless otherwise stated.
The use of any image from this blog without express permission is strictly prohibited.

5 thoughts on “Making Deals with the Devil

  1. Kerri says:

    I made my hair extra pink yesterday, I’m not ready for all that growing out business 🙂 Good luck to you! I’ll be here until the end of days.

    Too dramatic?

  2. Lily says:

    Ooooh! Good luck! You are in for a looong ride, but it will fly by. Especially if you keep getting it trimmed – you’ll have a brown bob in no time! And just think how lovely and healthy it will be!

Leave a Reply

