The Rise of the Mug Cakes

*snarf* Rise, geddit? It’s a baking pun *double snarf*

Having Pinterest on my phone is both a blessing and a curse. On the one hand it can bring me adorable pictures of tiny puppies wearing the cutest jumpers. On the other, it makes me hungry. Damn hungry.

For me, Pinterest is very much my insomnia companion. When it’s 4am and sleep is still hiding somewhere in a wardrobe, Pinterest is there. This is how I stumbled across Mug Cakes.

Now, seriously. It’s been brought to my attention that you all already knew about mug cakes and NOBODY TOLD ME! I thought we were friends, man. I thought we were FRIENDS!

*ahem* Moving on..

These are the 2 mug cakes I’ve attempted so far (repeatedly) and they’re damn good.

Peanut Butter Flourless Mug Cake

I found this on Kirbie Cravings (via Pinterest, obvs)

3 tbsp Smooth Peanut Butter
1 tbsp + 1 tsp White Granulated Sugar
1 Large Egg

1. Put the ingredients in to a mug and smush together. This isn’t easy because peanut butter is a sticky git.
2. Once you’ve got it looking fairly lump free and liquidy, quickly put it in the microwave.
3. Blast it on full power for 1 minute.
4. Take it out, look at it. Does it look cakey? Yes? Great. No? Bash it back in for another 30 seconds.
5. Leave to cool for however long you can stay patient..
6. EAT!

image

I promise it tastes better than my rubbish picture makes it look!
As this one doesn’t rise, you can make it in a normal size mug. The result should be a sticky, gooey, cakey lump. Yum!

Chocolate Mug Cake

This one seems to be a standard recipe across a lot of websites, so take your pick!

4 tbsp Self-Raising Flour
4tbsp Sugar
1 Egg
3 tbsp Cocoa Powder
3 tbsp Chocolate Spread
3 tbsp Milk
3 tbsp Oil

As with before, smush all the ingredients together in a mug. This time though, make sure the mug is BIG because this is going to rise – the mix should fill half of the cup.
This mix is a lot more cake-like, so takes a little longer in the microwave. I put it in for 1 minute, checked it and then put it in for another 30 seconds. It came out fluffy and delicious.

image

Have you discovered the world of mug cakes and kept it a secret from me as well? Let me know! Also, hit me up with any tasty recipes you’ve got!

Laters xx

All images used are taken by and the property of AStarFellOnHer, unless otherwise stated.
The use of any image from this blog without express permission is strictly prohibited.

5 thoughts on “The Rise of the Mug Cakes

Leave a Reply

