Monthly Subscriptions – May Edition

Hello, hello.

I feel like I’m slowly working my way through all of the monthly beauty boxes at the moment. I started with Birchbox, defected to Glossybox and have now settled down with My Little Box – not to mention the HorrorBlock and LuckyDipClub boxes I receive each month too. What can I say, I really like getting post.

This month, I received my last Glossybox and my second My Little Box. Both were pretty good but the french are definitely the winners. Here’s what I got.

Glossybox

image

My main bugbear with Glossybox is the size of the packaging against the products inside. A smaller box, that fitted through my post box, could definitely have been used.

image

image

Etre Belle Aloe Vera Moisturing Gel
This gel promises to cool, moisturise and revives your complexion, I’ll definitely be using this one over the summer to help keep my skin fresh.

Sass Intimate Perfect Skin Concentrate
A post-shave balm designed to reduce in-grown hairs sounds lovely but there’s bad blood between me and thee. I’ve yet to find one that doesn’t feel like acid on freshly shaved skin. Maybe this will be different though.

Zerreau Towel Off Shampoo Foam
Say what?! The lazy girl in me loves the idea of this product and I can’t wait to try it! The Apple scent is a little… pungent but I’ll give it a go!

Philosophy Renewed Hope in a Jar
Promises to: reduce the appearance of lines, discolouration & uneven texture, leaving your compexion hydrated and radiant. Wow. I have heard GREAT things about this brand but it’s always been too far out of my price range to try. I’m a little disappointed by the size of this sample but if it manages to deliver on its promises, I’ll forgive it.

MeMeMe Enchanted Eyes Dual Ended Wand in Midnight Storm
Hmm. I wasn’t sure about this and, after testing it, I’m still not. Blue eyeliner lives right on the line between stunning and crazy 80s. Unfortunately, this seems to land on the crazy 80s side.

Overall: Not the best box but still better than many of the Birchbox ones I received. I’ll find a way to make use of everything and, for my last Glossybox, it’s not the worst way to say goodbye. 5/10.

My Little Provence Box

This may only be my second box but I’m  already in love with this subscription.  My first box was outstanding and it hasn’t dipped with this one!

image

Even fatty is excited when this arrives.

image

Ah, L’occitante. Be still my heart. If there’s one brand that I wish I could afford to buy more of, this is it.

My Little Beauty Eyeshadow Pencil
In a lovely metallic brown shade, I’ll get a lot of use out of this. It’s a lovely creamy formula that glides on easily and adds a little sparkle to the day.

Mer & Mistral Shower Gel
Smelling deliciously like the sea in summer, this little bottle reminds me of our last holiday to Greece. I’m saving it for when I have time for a long, hot shower so I can really indulge.

Rose et Reines Hand & Nail Cream 
I’m not the biggest lover of things that smell of rose so I’m very happy that this isn’t too overpowering. The cream promises to restore your hands & nails, which is definitely something that I need now I’m indulging in regular gardening.

Verbena Body Lotion
For someone who hates the taste of lemon, I absolutely adore things that smell of it. Its designed for all over body use but I’ll be popping it in my bag to use as a handcream so I can enjoy the scent throughout the day.

Verbena Leaf Soap
Shaped like a leaf and Smelling deliciously citrusy, this claims to cleanse and exfoliate your skin with a creamy foam. I might use this in that same indulgent shower as the Mer & Mistral Shower Gel.

image

Embroidery Cuff
There were two lifestyle gifts in this months box, which did let the side down a little for me. The first was this lovely sunny wrist cuff, complete with two different colour threads. I’m not a fan of gold coloured jewellery so I doubt I’ll ever wear this. Others may love it’s quirkiness though.

My Little Doll Magnets
A bit of an odd gift to include. Personally, I wish they’d left it as the samples and the wrist cuff. I’ll not be sticking these on my fridge but might re-gift them to my 10-yr old niece who will enjoy them much more.

Overall: Aside from the odd magnets, this box is definitely a win! I can’t wait to see what they bring out next month. 9/10.

Do you get any monthly subscription boxes and are they any you’d recommend? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Monthly Subscriptions – May Edition

  1. Kerri says:

    The magnets are strange…

    I have a colleague who wears blue eye liner (with a hint of green in it). But she only wears it when we go out for work dinners or a conference, not every day, so it’s always such shock to see it… It’s very crazy 80s.

  2. Zoe Archer says:

    I was a little dubious about the blue eyeliner in the Glossybox too, but i can but try it, you never know i might be pleasantly surprised.

    zoea2812.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

