April Glossybox

A few months ago, I defected from my Birchbox subscription in favour of giving Glossybox a try. What can I say, I was swayed by the offer of more full size products.

Alas, I feel that my time with Glossybox is at an end. It started out so well but the last two have been… meh.

First Impressions

The theme for April’s box was the Iconic Hollywood Edition. I got the Marilyn Monroe box. When it arrived, it felt a little light and, on opening, the selection looked pretty weak.

image

image

Contents

Lord & Berry Lipstick Pencil in Kiss
Full size – £10.

image

I’ll be honest, I’m not a fan of lip crayons and I’m not a fan of red lip shades. I’m more of a dark berry kinda gal. This lip crayon applies smoothly and is BRIGHT. If that’s what you’re after, this is definitely the product for you. For me? Not so much.

Pop Beauty Kajal Eyeliner Pen
Full size – £6.50

image

You can’t really go wrong with a black eyeliner. This one applied smoothly and is indeed black. The smudger is a nice touch but I found it acted more like an eraser. Boo.

Color Club Barely There Nail Varnish
Full size – £4.10

image

Honesty time, I haven’t even tried this. I don’t like the colour and have no interest in using it. I understand how it ties in with the theme but a red varnish would have worked just as well.

Darphin Exquisage Beauty Revealing Cream (5ml sample)
Full size – £65 for 50ml

image

This smells delicious and made my skin feel sooooooooo soft. All those o’s? Yeah. Warranted. It’s not a big enough pot to really notice a difference and at £65 a pop, I can’t afford to re-buy. Still, for now? Yum.

Nougat London Soothing Bath Pearls (35g sample)
Full size – £6 for 35ml

image

I’m sorry, is this a treat from the 90s? Do people still use bath beads? I remember receiving things like this as gifts in my teens. Ok, they smell great but it looks like something your nan might hang in her wardrobe to get rid of mothballs.

Overall

With only 2 products out of 5 that I liked and only 1 of those I could ever afford to buy, I’m pretty underwhelmed. It’s not as much of a dud as the January Birchbox so I might give it one more try but my affection is waning. I might give My Little Box a try next instead.

Did you get this Glossybox? Let me know what you thought in the comments!

4 thoughts on “April Glossybox

  1. Kerri says:

    Haha your bath beads remind me that there a shop in town that sells the little bubble bath juelly shape things I used to get when I was young. The ones that you dropped in the bath and they turned into a strange goo like substance but came in the shape of balls, dolphins and what not.

    You know what I mean, yup, thought so.

  2. Porcelina says:

    How disappointing! And a bit wasteful with the packaging surely?

    If you want to do a swapsie then I’ll trade you that nail varnish and lip crayon for something from my vast collection of free gifts I don’t like!! You’re sure to find something more to your taste!! x

Leave a Reply

