Colour Freedom Review – Silver Blonde

When Colour Freedom appeared on the scene a few months back, I had pink hair and tried out Magenta Dreams. You can read that review here. (Spoiler: I loved it)

Flash forward a few months and you can’t have missed the increased popularity of grey/silver hair. Bouyed by the success of the Magenta, my decision was made and I set about bleaching my hair twice in 2 days, changing from pastel ginger to all out blonde. Oh, how it feels weird to be blonde.

Pro Tip: Conditioning masks are your friend. If you have any respect for your hair, well you wouldn’t be bleaching it as much as i did, but should you choose to – Condition, Condition, Condition. I used Aussie 3 Minute Miracle because it smells yummy.

To get this blonde I used 3 products:
Schwarzkopf Colour Mask in Pearl Blonde (£1 from Poundland)
Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Ultimate Lightener D+++ (£5.49 from Boots)
Schwarzkopf LIVE Color XXL HD M01 Icy Platinum Toner Mousse (£5.49 from Boots)

image

Pretty blonde, huh? Then I gave it a break, covered it conditioner and left it alone.

I awoke Sunday morning, surprised myself by somehow having forgotten that I had blonde hair, and set to work.

image

In all honesty, I set myself up fail. My expectations were too high. I flew too close to the sun.

The brand promise bold, vibrant colours but straight out of the packet, I knew it wasn’t going to be that vibrant. As I massaged the dye in to my hair, the pale-oh-so-pale formula turned it to a dark ashy blonde. Nuhuh, no silver here.

image

The instructions say to leave it on for 15-30mins. I left it on for an hour. It did NOTHING. Wait, no. That’s not true. It’s hella conditioning and my hair felt Ah-Mazing afterwards. Silver though, hell no.

image

In certain light, there’s one teeny tiny bit of silver but that is it. Urgh. Disappoint.

At best, this works as a pretty nice toner and conditioning mask. Unless you have white white hair though, I’d be surprised if anyone else noticed it working. Boo.

Have you tried Colour Freedom Silver Blonde? If you have, let me know how you found it in the comments.

Laters x

5 thoughts on “Colour Freedom Review – Silver Blonde

  1. Kerri says:

    Ahh going white/silver was a lot of hard work when I did it. I think I bleached my head about 4 times in the end and had to go through the awkward yellow phase… that was ugly, really ugly.

    I pretty much just bleached my hair until it was on deaths door haha and then conditioned the shit out of it afterwards 🙂

    Maybe you can bleach it further in a week.

  2. Holly says:

    Hi there! I am stopping by after you were featured on Kerri’s blog. Sorry this colour didn’t work out as you had hoped 😦 I keep on seeing people with pretty silver hair on the internet and would love to try it! Let me know if you find something that works!

  3. Anonymouse says:

    If I ever end up wanting silver hair, I’ll use ‘Pro voke-Touch of Silver’ products, before doing so. Just to build it up slowly. My hair is peroxide blonde, so I’ve already done the bleaching bit. Shame these hair colours aren’t true to the result shown on the box. It makes me want to hold the hair colour brand companies at random. Ha ha.

  4. von says:

    I have used the graphite silver and stone silver and I have no issues at all. It did exactly what it said on the box and I’m very happy with my silver/ grey hair

Leave a Reply

