January’s Book Review

Book Challenge

Hi guys,

If you read this post, you’ll know that I’ve set myself the challenge of reading 52 books this year. In my head, it doesn’t sound that many but we’re now so far in to February and I fear I’ve fallen behind.

January started well  and I managed to get 4 of 4 books completed. Here’s what I read…

Banquet for the Damned – Adam G Nevill

I picked up this book when he was doing a signing at Scardiff & I was working on the front desk at the Con – in full Zombie make-up. Props to Adam for signing the book and listening to me gush about how much I liked his work without making a single comment on my zombie face.

Banquet for the Damned is a brilliant book about nightmares becoming reality in a small town in Scotland. The book opens with a grisly death and the pace doesn’t drop. It’s rather long but it definitely managed to keep my interest and caused more than one “Oh, no way are they involved!” moment as the story progressed. By the end, you feel almost as out of breath and emotionally drained as the characters.

If you’ve read any other books by Adam, make sure to keep an eye open for some familiar names and references that crop up throughout.

Horrorstör – Grady Hendrix

horror

I’ll be honest, I bought this based on the cover. There, I said it. Sometimes I judge a book by its cover and, oh boy, this time I lucked out! The story follows the character Amy who works in Örsk, a very Ikea-eqsue store. Strange things have been happening in the store at night and Amy, with 2 other employees, has been tasked with staying after closing to find the cause. What ensues is a nightmare that you can actually imagine happening, should you ever find yourself in Ikea with the lights out. There were chunks of the book that read like teen horror fiction but the story soon picked back up. What really made this book for me was the ending *cryptic spoiler alert* I won’t divulge the details but I’m really glad it ended as it did because it’s something you don’t get enough of in books nowadays.

The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle and Generally Have More Fun – Gretchen Rubin

rubin

Wow oh Wow. Never have I been so affected by a book as this. I’ve never really been in to reading self-help books but my recent obsession with reading anything related to Mindfulness meant this quickly appeared on the list. Gretchen Rubin is a smart, ex-lawyer who changed her career and began her own Happiness Project. Filled with useful tips and quotes from famous people, she shows how making small changes really can lead to the biggest differences. Is it possible to think yourself happy? Yes. Yes it is.

If you feel that you’re in need of a little push back on to the happiness trail, this book is for you. Even if you just want an easy to read book, I’d still recommend this.

Did I cry at the end? Yes.
Why? Because the book made me that happy.

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living: What Other People Think of Me is None of My Business – Simeon Lindstrom

living

Oh geez, in complete contrast to the above – do not bother with this “book”. I’m using “bunny-rabbit ears” because I think calling this a book is giving it far too much credit. It’s more like a fat pamphlet. Poorly printed and with many, many spelling and grammatical mistakes, I’m actually impressed that I made it through the first chapter. It offers you nothing. No insights that you haven’t thought of yourself, no new ideas that you can’t find anywhere else. Nothing. Well, no that’s not true. It made me frustrated. At no point does it tell me how to stop worrying what other people think or even really how to stop worrying at all. It’s just a bit rubbish.

Later xx

2 thoughts on “January’s Book Review

  1. Porcelina says:

    I read the Happiness Project a few years ago and loved it too!! Such an inspirational book. Good luck with your reading target this year, I have set myself the target of 100 books for some reason?! But some of those will be work books so I think I have a small chance of meeting that goal x

Leave a Reply

