2015 Resolutions

Hi there,

After the (not so roaring) success of crossing off around half of my resolutions last year, I thought I’d go for a smaller list this time.

I’ve been feeling a bit “where is my life going? What am I doing?” about things lately and really want 2015 to be more focused. With that in mind, here’s my goals for 2015:

Health

1. No Drinking.
Me and alcohol have a complicated relationship. An introvert by nature, I often over-indulge in order to appear more social. Unfortunately, I don’t have a tipsy point – It’s just sober, sober, sober, drunk. I’m not going to say that I won’t have any alcohol (some special occasions requiring a toast and all) I’m just not going to abuse it like I currently do.

2. Run 10km
I managed to hit my 5km goal in 2014 with relative ease, however, my laziness won out and I’ve not run for a month. I’ve already plotted out routes for 6km, 8km and 10km as well as signing up to a 5km obstacle course on my birthday *gulp* – such is my keenness to achieve this.

3. Eat healthier.
I rarely eat fruit or veg so that’s the first change I want to make. As well as that, I really need to cut back on dairy. I’m lactose intolerant and should know better. Shame on me.

4. Lose a healthy amount of weight
I really wasn’t sure about putting this one in and changed the actual goal several times. I’ve been suffering with body anxiety a lot lately, partly due to not running, and just want to get back to a place where I’m not hating on myself so much. 

image

Wealth

5. Save £1500
Last year I managed to save the £1000 I had planned so I don’t think this is too unrealistic.

6. Buy a Car
Something I didn’t manage in 2014 due to stress but that has been made much easier thanks to a very appreciated offer of help from family. 

Everything Else

7. Read the Dark Tower Series
As a huge Stephen King fan, I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never read these books. I now have the full collection of this series though so 2015 will see me well-versed in the ways of Randall Flagg.

8. Read 52 books
Reading around 4 books each month doesn’t sound too unrealistic, especially as my “To Read” list already has about 20 books on it. I’m going to try and be more open to reading other genres as well.

9. Garden
Oh yeah, nice and vague. I had big plans for our garden in 2014 but then our fence fell down and it took months to get it fixed. Now that’s in place, we really need to completely strip out the garden and start over. I swear to the gods, I will get those bedding boxes made!

10. Find My Style
Ending on a biggie. I’m very much a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl – always have been and probably always will be – but as I approach 31, I think it’s time I actually took a bit more of an interest in clothes. My typical “Night Out” look consists of jeans and a vest or one of 5 dresses and my boots. I just feel like it’s time to shake it up. 

And that’s it. 10 fairly manageable plans for the next 12-months, some of which I’ve already started to work on (I’m looking at you no.5). I can’t wait to see what 2015 has in store for me. Here’s to new beginnings!

Laters xx

4 thoughts on “2015 Resolutions

  1. Elise says:

    I’m like that with alcohol as I get older, there’s no middle ground! Usually I have half a beer and fall asleep now anyway 😉 I’m going to start up the running again too, good luck!

  2. Kerri says:

    I think I’m going to go with ‘no drinking’ too, let’s just say me and gin should never speak again. Also it’s never good for me and my head… I do drink less and less all the time, so it should be easy to just never drink again 🙂

    I definitely want to get into running, we did it on and off all last year and when we ran it was so nice and relaxing. I think I need to invest in some running gear and then I will feel motivated to do it as I’ve spent money on it. But, I will definitely wait for it to be a little less cold. I’d like to start in March time so I can really get in to it before the next winter.

    I hope you can achieve your goals! Can’t wait to hear all about them throughout the year!

  3. Debi says:

    I’m the opposite with drinking if I’m honest. Not that I plan on necessarily drinking more but I am known to turn down a drink (especially with my husband’s family) in case I say something stupid and then spend months feeling like a numpty for it! I’d also like to find my style. Despite having nice dresses and tops in my wardrobe I always just fall into my normal routine of jeans and t-shirt. It would be nice to be a little more adventurous this year!
    I hope you manage to achieve everything you want to this year 🙂
    Debi x

Leave a Reply

