The Learning Curve

Hey there, blog fans!

I’ve had this little blog for around 18-months now. I don’t have the most followers or the most daily views and that’s ok. When I started this (cheese warning) it was because I needed a way to empty my head. I updated sporadically (does everyone else read that word in Brittany Murphy’s voice?) and it was all a bit random. 

image

Since those early days where I didn’t seem to give two hoots about giving a post a title, a lot has changed. I’m in the process of re-launching my horror blog (The Dunwich Blogger) and have already plotted out a series of posts for 2015 that I’m pretty excited about. 

So, in the last 18-months is there any wisdom I feel I can share? Well, yes but it’s probably all the same stuff you’ve read before.. 

1. Numbers Don’t Matter – Ok, that’s a lie. They do but not as much as you may be making them matter. Of course we all want to have popular blogs and yes, I do get frustrated when I see blogs that started the same time as me with 1000s of followers while I pootle along with my 180-ish. You know what though? I love my followers and am so grateful for them. I mean, crikey! There are people out there, who I’ve never met, who WANT to read what I’m writing. I haven’t had to pay them or anything! That’s pretty awe inspiring. 

2. Spell Check Is Your Friends –  I write like I speak and sometimes, just sometimes, it means that a sentence won’t make any sense (“You don’t never know” being a prime example). The one thing that I try to make sure I always do before I press Publish, however, is read through my post. I can’t count the number of times I’ve been put off a blog due to basic spelling errors. I don’t claim to be the best speller in the world but, oh boy, proof-read – Please! 

3. Interaction, interaction, interaction – the blog dream is having millions of followers with minimal interaction. No? That’s just me? Oh. Realistically, you’re unlikely to ever reach those heady heights without indulging in some self promotion and throwing out your 2-bits in a twitter chat. I’ve “met” some fab people through blogger chats & it has definitely helped my (not at all important) stats improve.

4. Don’t Sweat It – also known as “if it’s not fun, you’re not doing it right” – quit giggling! Bloggers block is a real thing, man. It’s real and it’s tough. If you happen to be visited by this foul mistress, don’t try and force it. Take a break & a step back. Your blog and followers will still be there when the fog lifts.

There are probably a billion other nuggets of advice I could give you but:
a) I’m not qualified
b) it wouldn’t be anything new
c) I’ve had a total brain fart and can’t think of anything else.

Go forth and blog in peace!

Laters xx

All images used are taken by and are the property of Astarfellonher, unless otherwise credited. The use of any image from this blog without express permission is strictly prohibited.

One thought on “The Learning Curve

  1. Kerri says:

    I’m still waiting for my follower payment… I think it must be lost in the post.

    I completely agree with these points, number are numbers and they’re kind of boring to look at, but I see why people care about them. Interaction is a big thing, I have noticed that when I don’t promote the odd post here and there or I decide that I can’t be doing with all the twitter drama that numbers go down.

    One tip I have, commenting on new blogs, I try to comment on three new blogs a day. Sometimes you find a new blog to read and sometimes that person comes back to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

