#LisaGetsFit

** I am not a medical professional. These opinions are my own and just what is working for me.**
** If you have any concerns, always check with your doctor before completing any exercise**

Hey there, blog fans!

Lately, if you follow me on Twitter, you might have seen me use #lisagetsfit. I’ve had some questions about what it is and what I’m doing, so I thought I’d run through it all here.  The overriding push is that I want to be better, faster and stronger. I want to be the best version of me that I can be. Exercise benefits not just your body but your mind too and I want all of me to be in top condition. I’ve been feeling a bit sluggish of late, which is often how my downward spirals start. This means that it’s going to be tough but I’m not rushing it because the process is just as important as the results.

So what am I doing?

 Mon/Thurs/SatRunning

I’ve been using the C25K app for my running. It’s an 8-week program designed to get you from not running at all, to running 5k without stopping. For me, it’s been great. Much like the Zombie Run app that I’ve used in the past, it sets you challenges and each week in the program pushing you to work a little harder. It’s amazing how quickly that competitive spirit is drawn out of you.
 c25k

I have seen criticism over the use of apps such as Couch To 5k for running, often by people using similar apps – doh! Here’s the thing: I’ve been where these people are. I’ve done the throwing myself in at the deep end thing. You want to get fit and you want fast results. Who doesn’t? I tried the “just get out there and run” method and the result? I injured myself pretty badly as I pushed too hard, too fast. If getting out there and doing it works for you, great! If, like me, you have existing problems with your feet/knees/ankles, you’re not going to be so keen to hurt yourself again. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with taking it slow and everyone has their own reasons. Quit with the shady judgement, mmkay?

TuesFit Box

I’ve done 4 weeks of this now and, my lord, it is the greatest thing I’ve ever done! For someone who can get a little “fighty” at times, this is a great stress reliever. The class is split between boxercise, cardio and tabata workouts. It’s essentially punching, running/skipping and then punching some more. I’ve never sweat so much in my life but it feels so damn good!

boxfit
Kat and Lauren, who run the class, have the patience of saints and are super encouraging (especially when you forget how to count halfway through a plank set because you’re concentrating so hard on just holding position). You’d never know that they were new to running training classes as Level Up Fitness are incredibly professional. They know what they’re talking about and they really enjoy what they do!

If you’re interested in joining Fit Box, it’s every Tuesday at 6:30pm in St Germans Hall, Splott. £4 on the door. Check out their Facebook page for more information and other classes.

Every day30 day challenges/7min Fitness

Also known as “Lisa learns to squat it like it’s hot”. Just in case the above weren’t working enough muscles, I mix in regular 30 day challenges as well. Currently I’m doing this one, which I put together myself.
fitness

It doesn’t take long. You can do it all in the comfort of your own home and the most equipment you need is a positive attitude and a sturdy wall. If you have any questions on how to complete any of the exercises, YouTube has a lot of instructional videos. Alternatively, drop me an email/tweet and I can try and explain it to you as best I can.

As well as the above, I use the 7 Minutes app on a pretty ad-hoc basis. This is a great little tool for when you’ve got a bit of free time and fancy pumping up that heart rate. You can adjust the rest/exercise times to what suits you best and it goes through a range of cardio workouts that get you more than a little sweaty.
7mins

In a few weeks, when the running program is finished. I’ll come back and update you all on how it’s going!
Do you have an exercise plan? Any hints and tips are always appreciated! Let me know in the comments.

Laters xx

2 thoughts on “#LisaGetsFit

  1. bluehairinbelgium says:

    ooh I like the idea of the 7 minute apt and I’m tempted to try the zero to 5k app. I don’t see why people are so negative, you’re doing something good for yourself so they should just leave you alone… in general, not specifically talking about you if you get what I mean.

Leave a Reply

