Skin Care & Your 30s

When I turned 30 in April, I was prepared for the increased interest in the contents of my womb and whether my finger had been collared by a shiny circle of metal. I wasn’t prepared for the other change.. Spots.

Growing up, I never really suffered from spots. Acne was something that I read about in Just 17 magazine but never experience for myself. Now, don’t hate me completely, I had enough things to worry about as a teen (eczema in your eyebrows is not a good look, trust me!)

Since turning 30, my chin has become a playground for the sneaky buggers. They’re always in the same place, forming a nice little line towards a small mole to the left of my chin. Others have set up camp on my forehead. These are too shy to introduce themselves properly, so fester under the skin and provide a rocky look to my face. I have spent a fortune on different products and had many a meltdown in Boots. Finally though, I’ve found some things that work.

THANK. THE. GODS.

So, if like me, you’ve sailed over the edge of the horizon and found yourself in a different age bracket – help is at hand. Here, for your reading pleasure is my new face regime.

STEP ONE – CLEANSE!

For YEARS, I was just using face wipes to clean my face. How I’ve not suffered spots before – I really don’t know. I now use the following:

Cleanse

Boots Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Cleansing & Toning Lotion £3.59 ~ I use this twice a day, morning and night.
Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water £4.99 ~ I’ll use this before using the Tea Tree Lotion above if I’ve been wearing make-up.
Clean & Clear Exfoliating Daily Wash £2.99 ~ Although it says it is a daily wash, I only use this 3 times a week as it can dry out my skin.

STEP TWO – PROVIDE A BASE

base

Boots Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Blemish Stick £2.59 ~ I’ll dab this on my spot prone zones.. or my FACE as it’s also known.

Boots Time Delay Youth Maintain De-Puffing Eye Roll-On £10.49 ~ Because I ain’t no spring chicken no more. This helps to make it look like I’ve had more than 2hrs sleep.

STEP THREE – MOISTURISE

mosturise

Garnier Pure A Anti-Blemish Moisturiser £4.79 ~ My morning moisturiser. I’ve tried so many different moisturisers and I just keep coming back to this one.

Boots Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Night Treatment Gel £2.99 ~ I’ve only been using this for 2 weeks so far but I love it already! I whack it on each night after I’ve cleaned my face, leave it for a few minutes to sink in and then head to bed. Perfect.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, that’s it. There is a lot of tea tree & witch hazel but that’s just because I’ve found it’s great for clearing up spot break outs and, you know, it smells Delicious!

Do you have any suggestions for battling spots in your 30s? I’d love to hear them in the comments below!

Laters xx

(There’s a lot of links to Boots here but this is not a sponsored post. All views and opinions are my own)

2 thoughts on “Skin Care & Your 30s

Leave a Reply

