Holidays Are Coming..

Tis the season to cover everything in glitter and plaster on a permanent smile. Falalalalalalalaalaaaaa!!

I love Christmas. I’m not ashamed to say that I absolutely adore the commercial side of this particular holiday. As soon as bonfire night is out of the way, I become like a magpie for anything brightly coloured, gaudy and with the merest hint of festivity.

..And this is how I ended up buying new nail varnishes today. Lately, I’ve not worn nail varnish as much as I used to. I’m sure this is due to my body demanding that I attempt to hibernate as much as possible. I just don’t seem to have the patience for the whole nail painting ritual.

However, these caught my eye whilst I was in Boots buying a much needed chocolate bar and, just like a magpie, I couldn’t resist.

Image

They are both from the Rimmel Precious Stones Collection and cost £3.99 each. I picked them up on a 3 for 2 offer with another nail varnish that I’ll get to in a bit.

The red one is shade 002 Ruby Crush and the Silver one is shade 001 Diamond Dust. They apply like glittery top coats rather than the “High coverage” polish they claim and feel a lot like sandpaper once dried. This was a little disappointing but the sheer amount of glitter packed in makes up for it. They’d look great applied as a top coat over a similar shade for the festive season. (NB: it does state on the Boots website that this is meant as a top coat, something that isn’t mentioned anywhere on the actual item)

The last varnish I picked up in the offer is a Seventeen Quicker Slicker Colour and is called Peacock. This was £2.99 and so was the free item in the deal.

Image

The colour on this is absolutely gorgeous. The fan brush ensures even and fast application and it dries really quickly. One coat was a little opaque for my liking but, thanks to the drying speed, two coats can be done in no time at all! This may become my favourite polish  as it is just so quick and easy to apply!

Finally, I picked up some No7 Beautiful Skin Quick Thinking Face Wipes. These are normally £7.00 which I think is EXTORIONATE for a face wipe. Luckily, I had a £5 off voucher so snapped them up for £2.00.

Image

I always hear great things about No7, although I think this is mostly from the adverts and not real people. I love the packaging with the snap top lid, excellent for keeping the face wipes moist (Sorry, that’s a terrible word but is also factually accurate). The package states that they’re fragrance free but to me they smell a lot like baby lotion. Here’s the blurb: “With Pro-vitamin B5 to moisturise and soften, plus extracts of witch hazel and fennel to clear pores to leave your skin feeling smooth and fresh.”

They did leave my skin feeling very refreshed and I think you could even get away with not moisturising after using these (but that’d be madness!). I’m not sure I’ll buy them again (unless I have a voucher) and I’ll definitely be rationing them out!

Have you picked up any bargain treats or festive goodies?

Laters xx

Leave a Reply

